Posted in Uncategorized

Is America Truly a Melting Pot?

If you ask the average American they might just say yes. If you ask me Hell No! It’s more like water and vinegar trying to mix together! Seriously! Assimilation, Assimilation is the key to survival! If you stay here long enough you will start to understand.

If people think you eat weird stuff and you’re not around a lot of people that are similiar to you it can tear you down and next thing you know you’re not eating what everyone thinks is weird. You’re eating a burger and french fries too!

America has sooo many race relation problems and it isn’t just white and black. It’s white people vs asians vs chicanos vs indians vs blacks vs native americans vs asians vs blacks vs etc. You get the gist. But I will say this White people are at the top of totem when it comes to race. They aren’t called European Americans just Americans. And everyone has to assimilate to the white culture. So no more ox tails, kimchi, hot and sour soup, curry, and other stuff. I’m just kidding you can definitely eat it but you will get asked,” what’s that?” And if they have eaten whatever you’re eating it’s the watered down American version. Long story short some people will look at you weird trust me I know.

Usually though you don’t have to worry about what you eat unless you’re a kid. Kids can be cruel.

When it comes to fashion, if it’s not westernized, age isn’t a boundary and people will judge you. If I haven’t given my race away already because I like to be neutral but whatever. I wear my daishiki and people look at me like I’m an alien. I’m use to being stared at but I get more stares since I’m wearing African clothing (I don’t think they wear daishiki as often as people think). Let me tell you, if you’re Indian or Middle Eastern you get lumped together, I know Indians are Asians but that disappears in America. Ok, so any headwraps worn you will be seen as a terrorist a.k.a ISIS. I’m serious! I’ve heard it with my own ears and that’s why people don’t like me at work because I shut them down about it. You not going to talk about other people like that own my watch, just saying.  People don’t care about being ignorant at times. Stereotyping can harm you not the other person. 

Asians are lumped as being Chinese or whatever ethnicity suits that person. If that person is talking about sushi and  you’re Chinese they will still assume you grew up eating it at home despite not being Japanese and telling them you’re Chinese. This goes for all East Asians. I don’t know what happens with Asians that aren’t East Asian other some people will say you’re not really Asian. :/ . Native Americans just don’t “exist anymore” and people talk about them like they’re extinct.

If you’re talking in another language just enjoying your day, some people hate it! I’ve heard it with my own ears! That’s why I got like 3 friends, I will call you out. The languages I hear the most hate or ridicule from are Spanish, Arabic, and languages from India,Africa, and Asia. Basically, if you’re brown speaking your native tongue, this is a no no. People don’t see it as sexy like they do French or Italian. Or a language to respect like German, you get my gist ;). People have even written about it before. People will sometimes say “speak English this is America or go back home” or “can you speak English”(disrespectfully)? The latter  happens with my boyfriend at times. So much for being a melting pot right?

I can go on and on about race relations but you can google it, look up the news to see how it is overall. So I won’t go into further details.

If you read my other posts, there’s some hint hints to not actually being a melting pot. I would definitely say America is the land of opportunity. Because if you can play the game right you can make some money!

Of course, you will meet great people who will accept you as you are. So don’t accept people that treat you like trash. However, if you are treated unfairly at least you won’t be surprised. So, do make friends, speak your language, wear clothes that you’re comfortable with, and just have fun being you! At the end of the day people will judge you regardless, so be comfortable while the haters are wasting their time talking.

I hope you enjoyed reading this  :). And thanks for sparing 5 minutes of your day reading my post!

I truly appreciate it!

 

 

Author:

Just a young woman talking about where I live and life in America.

Leave a Reply

